Tianjin (Chinese: 天津; pinyin: Tiānjīn) is a metropolis in northern China and one of the five national central cities of the People’s Republic of China. It is governed as a direct-controlled municipality, one of four such designations, and is, thus, under direct administration of the central government. Tianjin borders Hebei Province and Beijing Municipality, bounded to the east by the Bohai Gulf portion of the Yellow Sea.

As a dual-core city, Tianjin is divided into the old city and the Binhai New Area. Binhai New Area is a new growth pole in China, and it maintains an annual growth rate of nearly 30% of the GDP. As of the end of 2010, 285 Fortune Global 500 companies have established branch offices in Binhai. It is a base of China’s advanced industry, financial reform, and innovation.

Useful Tianjin Telephone Numbers

Police 110
Fire 119
Weather 121
Municipal First-Aid Center 120
Foreign Affairs Office of Police 7216795
Supervisory Office of Tourism Quality 28358814, 28358812
Tianjin Binhai International Airport 24901689
Railway Inquiry 26180114
EMS 185
UPS 23246908
DHL 24303388
FedEx 84255183, 84255193